2005 – 2 Years

It is unbelievable to think Debbie has been dead 2 years today. Some moments have flown by whilst others have dragged. My memorial notice this year was censored by the Maidenhead Advertiser. I submitted it and they called me back saying they could not print some of the sentences. So here is the original notice (without prejudice) for you to read.

My Sister, Debbie

Question : How do two people have the power to change the lives of hundreds of others?
Answer : By being the cause of your death.

Its 2 years or 731 days since I have seen you, spoken to you, held you, laughed with you. I think about you every day and miss you more than I ever thought I could miss anyone. I would give anything and everything to have you back for a chat, a drink, a laugh……a single sisterly hug.

Do those two people think about you? Have their lives returned to normal? Without you, normal is something my life can never be again. Every day I fight the thoughts of the things I will never have like a sister’s wedding or being an uncle. Every day I am without you……… I love you LS.

The thing that keeps blowing me away is how many people still remember Debbie, her birthday and her anniversary. I get texts and calls from people who just want to make me aware that my sister is still remembered. Its just so comforting to know that she is missed by so many people.

I still feel that it actually hasn’t hit me yet that she has gone. I just cant get my head around it that I will never see her again. Its almost like I’m lying to myself to stop the pain that would be caused if I were to try and come to terms with it. One thing is for sure and that is Debbie is remembered and honoured in the best most appropriate way. Every time, we and many others in this world have a drink with the we say the infamous saying “DING” instead of saying cheers! Even David Beckham has done it! She really has hit heights greater than we would ever have imagined.

Thanks to everyone that continues to support mum and me and also a huge thanks to everyone that is still supporting the charity. We have achieved so much from so few. Its inspiring.

Thank you everyone!