2014 – 11 Years

I wonder what Deb’s would be doing if she were still here? I wonder how many children she would have? Where she would be living? What job if any would have become her career? What colour would her hair be? Would she still only eat the drumsticks in a bucket of KFC? What car would she drive? How often would I be seeing her? Would my children love her like I do?

Over the previous 11 years, it has been amazing to see that people still remember my sister. I am sure lots of people do, but I am so grateful to those who actually reach out and say so. It’s not about a particular time of year and those significant dates, it can be at any time. Just taking that step to say “Debs popped into my mind”, or “I thought of Debs” is an amazing treasure for me and mum.

For anyone that has lost someone close, you will know how that person doesn’t leave your thoughts. I am still amazed (and saddened) when I watch something, hear something or feel something and think, albeit for a millisecond, I must call Debs and tell her (or my dad).

This is how, the true soul and spirit of person lives on – in our every day thoughts, in our hearts. Such that we instinctively think of them, without the reminder of a date.

Only those who were the most incredibly special leave such an indelible print on our hearts, on our minds, and on our lives!

I love you Debs xx

DING!