2013 – 10 Years

It is inconceivable to think I have been without my sister for that long. Yet in the same breath, the events of that day are like they were only yesterday. How can time and the feeling of its duration differ so vastly in a single breath? Mum and I have been focused on this anniversary, probably for the last couple to be honest. Its a milestone. 10 years is a milestone for most things in life. Birthdays – you are now in double figures. Weddings – you would be getting something in tin or aluminium to celebrate.

Whatever the length of time, whatever the occasion, there are some things that don’t change. I do not subscribe to the saying “time is a healer”. Frankly, time and its habit of not stopping, provides an unforgiving mechanism for escapism. Because we must carry on living, it prevents us from thinking and feeling the same things constantly and therefore provides a rest bite. It does not heal though!

For the second year, a few weeks ago, I put a picture of Debs on Facebook to mark her birthday! I have been overwhelmed by the number of responses from everyone still remembering, still thinking, still supporting, still missing Debs. I often wonder what Debs would be doing now, where would she be living, would she have kids?

The Memories Board is still published so please take a moment to add your entry.

From the bottom of my heart thank you! I thank you for taking those moments in your busy lives to remember Debs when something happens that reminds you of her, and a smile crosses your face! Creating a smile is a great legacy to have!

I love you Debs!

DING! x