2012 – 9 Years

9 Years!

9 years ago on this day I woke up thinking it was like any other day. How wrong could someone be! Over those 9 years, in thought or in discussing it with various people I have kept changing my mind about “blame”. Who is to blame for my little sister not being here and I keep coming to the fact that if that ignorant, uninsured rider of the moped had not been breaking the law by being on the motorway, Debbie would never have been involved in the accident!

I say ignorant because when the Magistrate asked her in court “did you know you it is illegal for you to be on the motorway”, she answered “no”! She got away with a driving ban and a few hundred pound fine because there was no law to capture the event properly. Fortunately the law has now changed and if it were to have happened today, she would have got up to 5 years in prison. Still not a comparison to the price we all pay daily!

A few weeks ago, I put a picture of Debs on Facebook to mark her birthday! I have been overwhelmed by the number of responses from everyone still remembering, still thinking, still missing Debs. I wonder how Debs would have got on with today’s social media? One thing is true though I’m sure she would have the largest number of friends, followers or connections! Social media has allowed me to republish the Memories Board too so please take a moment to add your entry.

From the bottom of my heart thank you! I thank you for taking those moments in your busy lives to remember Debs when something happens that reminds you of her, and a smile crosses your face! Creating a smile is a great legacy to have!

I love you Debs!

DING! x